Moving On

I quit my job. I don’t know if that’s an applicable post for ‘On the job’…..but I guess I am the one making the rules here, so I decided to put this up.

I had a great time working as a reporter, and I would love to keep doing it for a bit, so I don’t know what I will do next, and what happens to this blog which I had intended, after all, to talk about things I came across while on the job, as a reporter.

I will probably keep writing about what I do next, unless I am unemployed and at home, or decide to go study.

I will be writing for Bhutan Today till the end of this month, which means I am officially unemployed from March. Not for too long, I hope, because even though staying at home and catching all the episodes of “How I met your mother” and “Heroes” sounds great about now, I know it won’t be my GNH.

Not really knowing what I am going to be doing next month isn’t the greatest thing, I know, but I am actually looking forward to it, even with all the uncertainty.

That said, I loved my job. Quitting felt like a break up, the kind where you decide that it is going to be good for you in the long run, but it hurts anyways.

I worked for more than a year and a half now, and that is just so less, really, but it was amazing, and I feel like it has already been ages.

Every day was like a crash course into a new subject, and looking back, all I can think of is how clueless I was after college. My knowledge on politics went about as far as that there were two political parties in Bhutan, one of which won by a huge majority, which I thought was a great thing then. I mean when I thought about things like that, which was maybe once, after I heard news of the elections. GNH was this four pillar thing that outsiders loved to ask about. Economics was a shut door because I am poor at Math.

Now, not only do I know a lot more, I actually care. I have political opinions, I hope that democracy is a roaring success, and I tell people about GNH with a passion. And I actually got interested in economy.

I am grateful for my job, the people I met over the past one and half year.

I have met all kinds of people. Some people just amaze me, they are smart and capable, brilliant. It hasn’t been said out in the open, but I know a lot of people in Bhutan think that the Bhutanese are not ‘professional’ or ‘capable’ enough compared to ‘foreign experts’, which is why there always seems to be an edge when people declare that their venture or project is being handled by ‘foreign experts’. But I have met people who are everything that we don’t think our people are. And I am glad, because I know now that it is a misconception, that we have brilliant people right here, who can do great things, be it in art, politics, governance, business, or anything else. I have had many preconceptions challenged and changed, and I have found many issues that I don’t like, but always, always the hope that it can change, if only someone does something about it. And knowing that I could do my bit is a great feeling that gets you out of bed and into work every day.

There is also the feeling that something great is happening here which I am a part of. And I don’t just mean democracy. I mean people who start new things, kids who may someday be able to actually decide to become a professional sportspersons, 100 percent enrollment in schools.

The PM, in his GNH speech in Paro said that one can’t be happy unless people around are happy. And it is true. No matter what you have, true joy you will not, if people around you are miserable. I mean, you might feel fortunate that you are not as poorly off as them, and you might feel smug, also, but happy? I imagine a person living in luxury in the midst of misery to be afraid that they will lose what they have, live in a fear that others might hate them for what they have, and might try to take it away. Compare that to a place where everyone is happy.

Before I go completely off track, I just want to say that these are things that have become a part of the fabric of my life, and it is not them I am giving up. It’s just the job. Hopefully I will find a way to still keep doing what I do, if not through writing then something else. And I don’t think that will be too tough, because that is what most of us in Bhutan are doing now. Being a part of the change, helping in the steering, so to speak, and making sure that the road we take follows the path paved in gold.

Anyway, whatever it is that I do, I will keep writing, keep growing and learning and sharing. Thank you very much for reading this blog, and for offering your opinion at times. Please keep doing that.

Tashi Delek

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Moving On

Leave a Reply

